Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Bland Family papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 B159
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1778-1989, of the Bland family of King and Queen County, Gloucester County, and the James River area of Virginia. Includes mostly genealogical material compiled by Lineous Preston Bland, Jr. Includes correspondence, pamphlets, family trees, scrapbooks, newsletters, photographs, legal and military records, newspaper clippings, and oral histories. Much information focuses on Richard Bland (1710-1766), Virginia statesman and pamphleteer. The collection also...
Dates:
1778-1989
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas E. Pugh Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents
The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material. Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940. He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944. His first...
Dates:
1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William J. L. Sladen Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00660
Scope and Contents
Pamphlets from the Environmental Studies at Airlie, "The Swans of Airlie, " "Do I have to Mow That?," and Cygnus newsletter. Includes letters from William J.L. Sladen, Director of the Environmental Studies at Airlie, to William and Mary staff about genealogical research on the Tucker Family.
Dates:
2004-2005
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Strother Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.76
Scope and Contents
Four volumes of Strother family genealogy and one newsletter. Included are "Houses of Strother: Descendants of William Strother I, King George County, Virginia," Vols. I & II.
Dates:
1993-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center